IN DEVELOPMENTLibrary and tracker content is illustrative. Materials News displays external reporting.Road Map! — Feedback, requests & bugs →
← Materials Library

MATERIAL PROFILE / Individual substance

Hexamethyl phosphoramide

CAS: 680-31-9

Function: Individual chemical research reference

Compare this material →
Awaiting human verification

This material’s published information has not yet been verified by a human reviewer.

Human verification concerns the stated information and scope. It is separate from an EcoSafe score, certification or safety approval.

Overview

Clear, colorless liquid with an aromatic or mild, amine-like odor. [Note: A solid below 43°F.] Source-checked chemical identity with NIOSH physical-property and occupational-hazard context. Supplier grade, manufacturing origin and EcoSafe assessment require separate review.

Chemistry: Hexamethyl phosphoramide

Listed supplier: Supplier not selected · substance baseline

Chemical identity

Molecular formula
C6H18N3OP
Molecular weight
179.20 g/mol (identity reference)
IUPAC name
N-[bis(dimethylamino)phosphoryl]-N-methylmethanamine
PubChem CID
12679

Chemical identity only; purity, grade and supplier composition require separate documentation.

Identity snapshot: 2026-11-02 UTC.

CAS identity reference ↗

Core data coverage: 81.3%

13 of 16 defined fields have sourced information. This is data coverage, not a safety score, EcoSafe assessment or human-verification mark.

CAS cross-check: CAS 680-31-9 appears on the NIOSH card and in the returned PubChem CID’s synonyms. The CAS checksum and molecular-weight consistency were screened; variable-form and ambiguous matches were held out.

NIOSH identity & property source ↗ · PubChem CID 12679 ↗

Source context, synonyms & remaining gaps

Synonyms: HEXAMETHYLPHOSPHORAMIDE · HMPA · Hexamethylphosphoric triamide · Hexametapol · Hempa · HMPTA · Hexamethylphosphoric acid triamide · Phosphoric hexamethyltriamide

Physical description: Clear, colorless liquid with an aromatic or mild, amine-like odor. [Note: A solid below 43°F.]

Occupational hazard context: irritation eyes, skin, respiratory system; dyspnea (breathing difficulty); abdominal pain; [potential occupational carcinogen]

The hazard text above reproduces the NIOSH symptoms field; it is not a complete GHS classification, exposure assessment or current supplier SDS. Read the original card and applicable supplier documentation.

Missing core fields: Uses · Density · SDS/TDS

Grade-specific properties, verified manufacturing origin and EcoSafe assessments are tracked separately and are not established by this import.

Source snapshot accessed 2026-11-02. The access date is not the source’s publication or revision date.

How the 16-field coverage score works →

Technical properties

NIOSH substance reference · not a supplier-grade specification. Source wording and units are retained, including °F. A missing temperature, pressure or test method has not been assumed. Specific gravity is not mass density; solubility and water reactivity are distinct.

PropertyValueConditions / method
SolubilityMiscible
Substance reference
Conditions retained in source value where stated; otherwise unspecified. Confirm form and conditions in the original card.
Method not stated in extracted NIOSH field
Source ↗
Boiling point451°F
Substance reference
Conditions retained in source value where stated; otherwise unspecified. Confirm form and conditions in the original card.
Method not stated in extracted NIOSH field
Source ↗
Specific gravity1.03
Substance reference
Conditions retained in source value where stated; otherwise unspecified. Confirm form and conditions in the original card.
Method not stated in extracted NIOSH field
Source ↗
Flash point220°F
Substance reference
Conditions retained in source value where stated; otherwise unspecified. Confirm form and conditions in the original card.
Method not stated in extracted NIOSH field
Source ↗
Melting / softening behavior43°F
Substance reference
Conditions retained in source value where stated; otherwise unspecified. Confirm form and conditions in the original card.
Method not stated in extracted NIOSH field
Source ↗

Documents & supplier information

Archived copies are dated references. Confirm the latest document for your supplier, grade and region.

Hexamethyl phosphoramide — NIOSH Pocket Guide

Technical reference · CDC / NIOSH
Source revision: see original card; accessed November 2, 2026 · US occupational reference

Non-branded substance reference, not an SDS or exact-grade TDS. Contains physical properties and occupational hazard context; current supplier documentation is still needed.

Supplier access / request ↗

An exact-grade regional SDS has not yet been archived for public access on this site.

Supplier and range referencesOriginal supplier / material reference ↗

Find this material in the Document Library →

Suppliers & makers

Confirm grade, composition, current availability and production location directly with the supplier.

No material-specific supplier match has been added yet.

Documents, origin & assessment

Supplier documents
See Documents & supplier information above for linked references and gaps.
Manufacturing origin
Not verified
EcoSafe assessment
Not assessed · no numerical points or certification

Identity data and category placement do not establish safety, suitability or environmental performance. Obtain current grade-specific documentation.

Industries & categories

Industrial Chemicals
Base Chemicals & Intermediates · Organic Intermediates

Sources

Original material source ↗

Library source check: November 2, 2026. Sources may require supplier access.