IN DEVELOPMENTLibrary and tracker content is illustrative. Materials News displays external reporting.Road Map! — Feedback, requests & bugs →
← Materials Library

MATERIAL PROFILE / Individual substance

Iron pentacarbonyl

CAS: 13463-40-6

Function: Individual chemical research reference

Compare this material →
Awaiting human verification

This material’s published information has not yet been verified by a human reviewer.

Human verification concerns the stated information and scope. It is separate from an EcoSafe score, certification or safety approval.

Overview

Colorless to yellow to dark-red, oily liquid. Source-checked chemical identity with NIOSH physical-property and occupational-hazard context. Supplier grade, manufacturing origin and EcoSafe assessment require separate review.

Chemistry: Iron pentacarbonyl

Listed supplier: Supplier not selected · substance baseline

Chemical identity

Molecular formula
C5FeO5
Molecular weight
195.90 g/mol (identity reference)
IUPAC name
formaldehyde;iron
PubChem CID
26040

Chemical identity only; purity, grade and supplier composition require separate documentation.

Identity snapshot: 2026-11-02 UTC.

CAS identity reference ↗

Core data coverage: 81.3%

13 of 16 defined fields have sourced information. This is data coverage, not a safety score, EcoSafe assessment or human-verification mark.

CAS cross-check: CAS 13463-40-6 appears on the NIOSH card and in the returned PubChem CID’s synonyms. The CAS checksum and molecular-weight consistency were screened; variable-form and ambiguous matches were held out.

NIOSH identity & property source ↗ · PubChem CID 26040 ↗

Source context, synonyms & remaining gaps

Synonyms: 6WQ62TAQ6Z · RefChem:55410 · 236-670-8 · carbonyl iron (Fe(CO)5) · Fe(CO)5 · FER pentacarbonyle · Iron Carbonyl · Iron carbonyl (Fe(CO)5)

Physical description: Colorless to yellow to dark-red, oily liquid.

Occupational hazard context: irritation eyes, mucous membrane, respiratory system; headache, dizziness, nausea, vomiting; fever, cyanosis, cough, dyspnea (breathing difficulty); liver, kidney, lung injury; degenerative changes in central nervous system

The hazard text above reproduces the NIOSH symptoms field; it is not a complete GHS classification, exposure assessment or current supplier SDS. Read the original card and applicable supplier documentation.

Missing core fields: Uses · Density · SDS/TDS

Grade-specific properties, verified manufacturing origin and EcoSafe assessments are tracked separately and are not established by this import.

Source snapshot accessed 2026-11-02. The access date is not the source’s publication or revision date.

How the 16-field coverage score works →

Technical properties

NIOSH substance reference · not a supplier-grade specification. Source wording and units are retained, including °F. A missing temperature, pressure or test method has not been assumed. Specific gravity is not mass density; solubility and water reactivity are distinct.

PropertyValueConditions / method
SolubilityInsoluble
Substance reference
Conditions retained in source value where stated; otherwise unspecified. Confirm form and conditions in the original card.
Method not stated in extracted NIOSH field
Source ↗
Boiling point(749 mmHg) 217°F
Substance reference
Conditions retained in source value where stated; otherwise unspecified. Confirm form and conditions in the original card.
Method not stated in extracted NIOSH field
Source ↗
Specific gravity1.46-1.52
Substance reference
Conditions retained in source value where stated; otherwise unspecified. Confirm form and conditions in the original card.
Method not stated in extracted NIOSH field
Source ↗
Flash point5°F
Substance reference
Conditions retained in source value where stated; otherwise unspecified. Confirm form and conditions in the original card.
Method not stated in extracted NIOSH field
Source ↗
Melting / softening behavior-6°F
Substance reference
Conditions retained in source value where stated; otherwise unspecified. Confirm form and conditions in the original card.
Method not stated in extracted NIOSH field
Source ↗

Documents & supplier information

Archived copies are dated references. Confirm the latest document for your supplier, grade and region.

Iron pentacarbonyl — NIOSH Pocket Guide

Technical reference · CDC / NIOSH
Source revision: see original card; accessed November 2, 2026 · US occupational reference

Non-branded substance reference, not an SDS or exact-grade TDS. Contains physical properties and occupational hazard context; current supplier documentation is still needed.

Supplier access / request ↗

An exact-grade regional SDS has not yet been archived for this material.

Supplier and range referencesOriginal supplier / material reference ↗

Find this material in the Document Library →

Suppliers & makers

Confirm grade, composition, current availability and production location directly with the supplier.

No material-specific supplier match has been added yet.

Documents, origin & assessment

Supplier documents
See Documents & supplier information above for linked references and gaps.
Manufacturing origin
Not verified
EcoSafe assessment
Not assessed · no numerical points or certification

Identity data and category placement do not establish safety, suitability or environmental performance. Obtain current grade-specific documentation.

Industries & categories

Industrial Chemicals
Base Chemicals & Intermediates · Organic Intermediates

Sources

Original material source ↗

Library source check: November 2, 2026. Sources may require supplier access.