IN DEVELOPMENTLibrary and tracker content is illustrative. Materials News displays external reporting.Road Map! — Feedback, requests & bugs →
← Materials Library

MATERIAL PROFILE / Individual substance

n-Butylamine

CAS: 109-73-9

Function: Primary alkylamine / industrial synthesis intermediate

Compare this material →
Awaiting human verification

This material’s published information has not yet been verified by a human reviewer.

Human verification concerns the stated information and scope. It is separate from an EcoSafe score, certification or safety approval.

Overview

n-Butylamine is a primary aliphatic amine used as an intermediate in chemical synthesis. Reported downstream markets include agrochemicals, pharmaceutical intermediates, dyes, surfactants and rubber chemicals. It is a highly flammable, corrosive and acutely toxic industrial material requiring the precautions in its actual supplier SDS.

Chemistry: n-Butylamine

Listed supplier: Multiple suppliers · named grade references

Chemical identity

Molecular formula
C4H11N
Molecular weight
73.14 g/mol (identity reference)
IUPAC name
butan-1-amine
PubChem CID
8007

Chemical identity only; purity, grade and supplier composition require separate documentation.

Identity snapshot: 2026-11-02 UTC.

CAS identity reference ↗

Source-linked research · awaiting human review · 2026-11-02

Uses

ANSES describes n-butylamine as an intermediate in making plasticizers, agrochemical and pharmaceutical products, emulsifiers, dyes and tanning agents, with rubber and polymer-processing applications. This is a chemical-synthesis building block, not evidence that unrestricted exposure or direct consumer use is appropriate.

Industry & market uses

Relevant market tags are agrochemicals, pharmaceutical synthesis, rubber chemicals, dyes, surfactants and specialty intermediates. Current global market shares and production rankings are not established here.

Is it considered green?

The reviewed sources do not establish that this OXEA n-butylamine grade is biobased, certified green or lower-carbon than alternatives. Its SDS reports 85% biodegradation in 14 days under OECD 301 C, which does not cancel flammability, corrosivity, acute toxicity or aquatic hazards. A greener-process claim would require exact-route, exposure and lifecycle evidence.

Supplier-grade safety context

OXEA US SDS: highly flammable; harmful if swallowed; toxic by skin contact or inhalation; severe skin burns and eye damage; respiratory irritation; toxic to aquatic life.

Refer to the full actual regional SDS for safe handling and exposure controls.

Read the source and complete SDS ↗
Questions for human review (7)
  • CAS 109-73-9 is n-butylamine; do not combine it with isobutylamine, sec-butylamine, tert-butylamine or di-n-butylamine.
  • −47 °C is explicitly a pour point, not an adopted melting point. Numeric values from other suppliers may differ by test method.
  • The SDS density/relative-density units are not printed; engineering-unit conversion remains unverified. Viscosity is kinematic at 20 °C.
  • The pH entry is for 50% in water at 25 °C, not neat-material pH.
  • The sales specification contains impurity and color limits in addition to assay/water; use the complete PDF and a lot-specific CoA for purchasing qualification.
  • SDS section 2 contains specific first-aid wording that should not be paraphrased into website treatment instructions. Keep the complete SDS available and seek qualified safety review.
  • Biodegradation does not establish safe release, green certification or an EcoSafe category. No verified lower-carbon/renewable claim adopted.
Explore these research questions

Core data coverage: 81.3%

13 of 16 defined fields have sourced information. This is data coverage, not a safety score, EcoSafe assessment or human-verification mark.

CAS cross-check: CAS 109-73-9 appears on the NIOSH card and in the returned PubChem CID’s synonyms. The CAS checksum and molecular-weight consistency were screened; variable-form and ambiguous matches were held out.

NIOSH identity & property source ↗ · PubChem CID 8007 ↗

Source context, synonyms & remaining gaps

Synonyms: Butylamine · butan-1-amine · N-BUTYLAMINE · 1-Butanamine · 1-Aminobutane · 1-Butylamine · Monobutylamine · Norvalamine

Physical description: Colorless liquid with a fishy, ammonia-like odor.

Occupational hazard context: irritation eyes, skin, nose, throat; headache; skin flush, burns

The hazard text above reproduces the NIOSH symptoms field; it is not a complete GHS classification, exposure assessment or current supplier SDS. Read the original card and applicable supplier documentation.

Missing core fields: Uses · Density · SDS/TDS

Grade-specific properties, verified manufacturing origin and EcoSafe assessments are tracked separately and are not established by this import.

Source snapshot accessed 2026-11-02. The access date is not the source’s publication or revision date.

How the 16-field coverage score works →

Technical properties

OXEA n-Butylamine, product 10440; sales specification and US SDS. The SDS prints −47 °C as a pour point at 1013 hPa by DIN ISO 3016; it is not imported as a melting-point determination. Preserve kinematic-viscosity units and the stated aqueous pH concentration.

PropertyValueConditions / method
Kinematic viscosity0.693 mm²/s
Substance reference
Kinematic viscosity at 20 °C
ASTM D445
Source ↗
Refractive index1.401
Substance reference
20 °C; wavelength not stated
Method not stated
Source ↗
Solubility>424; miscible g/L
Substance reference
In water at 20 °C; numeric reference and miscibility retained together
OECD 105
Source ↗
Boiling point77 °C
Substance reference
1 atm (101.3 kPa)
OECD 103
Source ↗
Specific gravity0.736
Substance reference
Printed under Density and/or relative density at 20 °C; unit/reference basis not supplied
DIN 51757
Source ↗
Purity / assay≥99.5 % (w/w)
Specification
Minimum n-butylamine assay
Gas chromatography
Source ↗
Water content≤0.10 % (w/w)
Specification
Maximum water
DIN 51777 / ASTM D1364 / ASTM E203
Source ↗
pH13
Substance reference
50% in water at 25 °C
DIN 19268
Source ↗
Flash point−7.5 °C
Substance reference
Cup type not stated in entry
ISO 13736
Source ↗

Documents & supplier information

Archived copies are dated references. Confirm the latest document for your supplier, grade and region.

n-Butylamine - OXEA US SDS

SDS · OXEA Corporation / OXEA GmbH
Version 6; January 8, 2026 · USA · English

Exact CAS 109-73-9, product 10440; intermediate use. US hazards retained independently of other regional documents. Section 9 values are substance references, not guaranteed specifications.

Open archived copy ↗ · Download · Supplier source ↗

n-Butylamine — OXEA n-Butylamine — SDS (Global Default SDS)

SDS · OXEA
Revised 11-Apr-2025 · Global Default SDS

Supplied OXEA original; CAS 109-73-9. Grade: n-Butylamine. Region and language are separate; this document does not characterize every supplier grade.

Open archived copy ↗ · Download · Supplier source ↗

n-Butylamine — OXEA n-Butylamine — SDS (Great Britain)

SDS · OXEA
Revised 11-Apr-2025 · Great Britain

Supplied OXEA original; CAS 109-73-9. Grade: n-Butylamine. Region and language are separate; this document does not characterize every supplier grade.

Open archived copy ↗ · Download · Supplier source ↗

n-Butylamine — OXEA n-Butylamine — SDS (India)

SDS · OXEA
Revised 11-Apr-2025 · India

Supplied OXEA original; CAS 109-73-9. Grade: n-Butylamine. Region and language are separate; this document does not characterize every supplier grade.

Open archived copy ↗ · Download · Supplier source ↗

n-Butylamine — OXEA n-Butylamine — Handling guide (English)

Handling guide · OXEA
Date/version as printed in supplied original; confirm current issue · English

Supplied OXEA original; CAS 109-73-9. Grade: n-Butylamine. Region and language are separate; this document does not characterize every supplier grade.

Open archived copy ↗ · Download · Supplier source ↗

n-Butylamine - OXEA sales specification

Specification · OXEA Corporation / OXEA GmbH
Version 2.0; May 19, 2025 · English · English

Visually checked: n-butylamine ≥99.5 wt%, water ≤0.10 wt%, isobutylamine ≤0.30 wt%, n-butanol ≤0.30 wt%, di-n-butylamine ≤0.10 wt%, APHA color ≤15. Full printed methods and impurity limits remain in the PDF; not a lot CoA.

Open archived copy ↗ · Download · Supplier source ↗

n-Butylamine — NIOSH Pocket Guide

Technical reference · CDC / NIOSH
Source revision: see original card; accessed November 2, 2026 · US occupational reference

Non-branded substance reference, not an SDS or exact-grade TDS. Contains physical properties and occupational hazard context; current supplier documentation is still needed.

Supplier access / request ↗
Supplier and range referencesOriginal supplier / material reference ↗

OXEA Corporation / OXEA GmbH · n-Butylamine · reference p. 1 ↗

OXEA · n-Butylamine · reference p. 1 ↗

Find this material in the Document Library →

Suppliers & makers

Confirm grade, composition, current availability and production location directly with the supplier.

OXEA Corporation / OXEA GmbH · n-Butylamine

Supplier-listed identity match; purity, additives, performance and origin require separate confirmation.

Supplier reference ↗

OXEA · n-Butylamine

Supplier-listed identity match; purity, additives, performance and origin require separate confirmation.

Supplier reference ↗

Documents, origin & assessment

Supplier documents
See Documents & supplier information above for linked references and gaps.
Manufacturing origin
Not verified
EcoSafe assessment
Not assessed · no numerical points or certification

Identity data and category placement do not establish safety, suitability or environmental performance. Obtain current grade-specific documentation.

Industries & categories

Industrial Chemicals
Base Chemicals & Intermediates · Organic Intermediates

Sources

Original material source ↗

Library source check: November 2, 2026. Sources may require supplier access.